The 9th Annual Celebrating Community Giving Day

Celebrating Community Giving Day celebrates the spirit and generosity of local benefactors and will be the ninth year that LSFRE has hosted such a day of recognition. LSFRE presentes awards during the Celebrating Community Giving Day luncheon for the following four categories based on your nominations::

Outstanding Volunteer Fundraisers
Outstanding Individual Philanthropists
Outstanding Legacy Award
Outstanding Philanthropic Organization

Click here for the nomination form and a brief description of each award followed by several questions to assist you in completing your nomination. These questions, and your narrative responses to them, will serve as the primary basis of the application and the committee’s awards selections. Please answer each of the questions for each nomination you send and include the contact information requested.

Send completed nominations to:

LSFRE Philanthropy Day Awards Committee
PO Box 3441
Duluth, MN 55803-3441

or email to

Take the time to submit a nomination for an individual, couple, organization or corporation you feel demonstrates true philanthropic spirit. It’s a wonderful way to honor them and to show your gratitude.

Also, please plan to attend! Bring your Board of Directors, donors and volunteers as a great way to celebrate what they mean to your organization, regardless of who you nominate.!

Questions? Contact Jennifer Crown at:

Past Awardees

Outstanding Volunteer Fundraisers

Susan Vandersteen & Sarah Seidelmann (2014)
Don Leighton (2012)
Dorianne “Trinky” J. (Pollard) Jarrett (2011)
Tom Cartier (2009)
Robert S. Mars, Jr.(2008)
Mitch and Elva Sill (2007)
Karen Bell Alworth (2006)

Outstanding Philanthropic Organization

Northland Foundation (2014)
DSGW (2013)
Super One Foods/Miner’s Inc. (2012)
Maurices (2011)
Stewart Taylor Printing (2010)
Alice Tweed Tuohy Foundation (2009)
Benedictine Sisters of St. Scholastica Monastery (2007)
Minnesota Power, an Allete Company (2006)

Outstanding Legacy Award

Marshall W. Alworth (2014)
Dr. Vernon and Dorothy Harrington (2013)
Richard and Henrietta Brewer (2012)
Nat and Viola Polinsky (2011)
Albert Gonska (2010)
Andreas Mitchel Miller (2009)
Albert Ordean (2008)
Mary Carufel Dwan (2007)
Chester and Clara Congdon(2006)

Outstanding Individual Philanthropists

Clyde & Jean Olson (2014
Dave Goldberg (2013)
Phil and Babs Strom (2012)
John and Julie Sanford (2011)
Richard and Elizabeth Burns (2010)
Ron and Mary Ann Weber (2009)
Joel and Sharon Labovitz (2008)
Jeno and Lois Paulucci (2007)
James and Susan Swenson (2006)

Professional Development Scholarships

The Lake Superior Fund Raising Executives (LSFRE) is proud to offer a limited number of scholarships to fundraisers who wish to develop their professional skills by attending a conference, workshop, or seminar but would otherwise be unable to participate due to limited funding.

Learn more and download an application »